Forum

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Can Render Pixels but not Vectors
DannyBoy
DannyBoy
Post Can Render Pixels but not Vectors
on: June 21, 2020, 05:55

Arduino Mega
Adafruit Motor shield v1
Github Controller v2.4.2
Processing 2.2.1

Hey, I'm totally new to polargraphs, but what an amazing project.

Simply put, I can't get a vector to draw. Render pixels works, move pen to point, and return to home works, but vectors give the, "this point falls outside the area of the machine. Skipping it."

I have "Set Home"
I have "uploaded Machine Spec"
When I upload the machine spec I get the response. E21:06:04 C25, PGXXABCD, END not recognized, but my saves seem to be working.

Now to say that draw vectors have never worked would be a lie. It did work twice and when it started both steppers caused the pen to go vertical above the home point. I pulled the plug once and the other time it started to draw.

any help here would be great. this machine makes me drool.

sandy
Administrator
sandy
Post Re: Can Render Pixels but not Vectors
on: June 21, 2020, 14:09

Hi! You've got half of it working at least 🙂

Yes I think you're doing the right things. The "set home" needs to happen every time you restart the machine though. The "upload machine spec" happens once, it's a special occasion!

"Set home" needs to happen _after_ your upload machine spec too, you're best off uploading the machine spec, then restarting the arduino so it gets a freshly loaded specs from it's internal memory.

If the spec on the arduino matches the spec in the controller, then "Set home", by definition, places the pen into a drawable area - it's not possible to do a "set home", and then for a line at the same point to be off the page. You can test this by doing "set home" and then "move direct" and click just next to the home point. Perhaps you could click further and further away to troubleshoot?